Will Howett wins Norfolk Seniors’ Championship at Royal Cromer

Norfolk Seniors champion Will Howett (right) with county president Graham Turner and Royal Cromer ca

Norfolk Seniors champion Will Howett (right) with county president Graham Turner and Royal Cromer captain Jane Jones. Picture: Norfolk CGU - Credit: Archant

It was a case of first time lucky as Royal Cromer golfer Will Howett won the Norfolk Seniors' Championship on his home course.

In his first appearance in the big event, Howett saw off the challenge of 84 of the county's leading players 'of a certain age' to get his hands on the silverware.

Putting his local knowledge to good use, he went round in 75 to pip Neal Milton, who is secretary at nearby Sheringham, by a single shot.

As the scores came in it was clear the course offered a real test of golf and was a credit to the club and the course management team after some inclement weather leading up to the event. Nonetheless, some great golf was played and early starter Howett laid down a marker that was to prove beyond the rest of the field.

After signing for his gross 75 (nett 71) he had a long wait until the final players came in.

Milton got closest while a shot further back on 77 was Peter Collins of Eaton, with John Tavener of Thetford fourth on 78 on countback from defending champion Mark Skipper of Eaton.

Howett now goes forward to Woodhall Spa to represent Norfolk in the England Gold County Champion of Champions Tournament in September.

Most Read

The Handicap Championship was won by Paul Arnold of King's Lynn, with a nett 70 just easing out Bryan Smy of Dunston Hall with a nett 71. The podium line-up was completed by Chris Wallace of Royal Norwich (nett 73 ocb), Randy Reynolds of Fakenham (nett 73) and Nigel Elmar of Dereham (nett of 73).

This year saw the introduction of a Super Seniors' Championship, with trophies being donated by past presidents Doug Gilchrist and Alan Winstanley. Paul Arnold (nett 70) took both handicap and scratch trophies and said afterwards what a honour it was to be the first winner. County stalwart Terry Norman of Gt Yarmouth & Caister finished second in the scratch, with Malcolm Carr of Sheringham and Richard Blakey of Royal Cromer completing the line-up.

In the Handicap, Tony Canning of Costessey Park came second with Pat Kerrison of Mundesley and Michael Kirkham of Royal Norwich third and fourth respectively.

The Scratch Team Championships for the Peter Clarke Shield Trophy was won for the third year in a row by Eaton with the team of Roger Finney, Mark Skipper and Paul Pritty coming in with a combined score of 242. The Handicap Team Championships for the Frank Boswall Trophy also went to Eaton, the team of Mark Jackson, Tony Reid-Cowan and Peter Collins finishing on 224 nett.