Drama as Aldborough beat cup holders Witchingham

Aldborough 137-5 beat Great Witchingham 126-7 by 11 runs

GREAT Witchingham won the Bernard Matthews Cup in style last season and an EAPL team boasting some of Norfolk's big cricketing names arrived full of confidence at Alliance Division Five side Aldborough.

The hosts, however, had other ideas as they pulled off an extraordinary upset to topple the holders in dramatic style.

Aldborough captain Sean Cannon decided to bat. Allan and Charlwood batted well together to reach 80 off the first eight overs before Charlwood was bowled by New Zealander Rory McCone for 24. Despite some tight bowling from Jonathan Spellman and Andrew Dye, Aldborough batted around a great innings from Troy Allan who smashed 75 including five sixes. Plumb's 14 was handy too as The Greens all chipped in to make 137-5.

With EAPL players such as the Spellman brothers, Ryan McCone, Shaun Arthurton, James Hale and Andrew Dyer, they looked odds on to chase down the target. Arthurton hit two mighty sixes before skying a slower ball from Perry-Warnes, holing out to a good catch from Moakes. Jonathan Spellman fell shortly after to Nathan Taylor (1-15) and McCone, currently making waves in the EAPL was caught well on the boundary off Perry-Warnes.

Youngsters James Hale (58) and Matt Hale (13) steadied the ship but could not up the run rate with excellent bowling from Moakes (1-17) and Dingle. Even the arrival of Witches captain James Spellman and EAPL star Andrew Dyer could not rescue them as brilliant fielding from Plumb, Saunders and Moakes helped Aldborough complete a momentous win.

Aldborough: T Allan b Dyer 75, R Charlwood b McCone 24, M Saunders c Dyer b Spellman 1, B Plumb b McCone 14, A Siddle c Dyer b H Arry 6, S Cannon not out 3, J Perry-Warnes not out 1. Total 137-5. Bowling: A Dyer 4-0-22-1, J Wright 4-0-40-0, J Spellman 4-0-35-1, R McCone 4-0-25-2, H Arry 1-0-8-0.

Most Read

Great Witchingham: S Arthurton c Moakes b Perry-Warnes 16, S Groves c Craske b Taylor 13, Jon Spelman run out 5, R McCone c Craske b Perry-Warnes 6, J Hale b Moakes 58, M Hale c Charlwood b Dingle 13, A Dyer not out 1, James Spellman run out 1. Total 126-7. Bowling: Perry-Warnes 4-0-38-2, N Taylor 4-1-15-1, A Craske 2-0-15-0, Moakes 3-0-18-1, R Charlwood 1-0-12-0, Dingle 2-0-20-1.