Cromer Golf Club’s ladies seal title double

The ladies of Royal Cromer Golf Club are celebrating a notable double after winning one of county's most sought after titles for the second year running.

Dianne Prewer and her team made a name for themselves last season when their club was crowned NLGCA Inter Club League Division One champions for the first time since 1993.

And after waiting 17 years to get their hands on the prestigious trophy they had to wait just 12 months to win it again after coming through their campaign with a perfect record of three home wins out of three, with a crucial away win at Sprowston Manor helping them over the line.

The Norfolk Lady President will present the trophy to Royal Cromer's lady captain at the county annual meeting at the end of the season.

'We're obviously really delighted to win this again. It has been a real team effort, with everyone playing their part, and it has been a pleasure to captain them,' said Dianne.

In 2011 Division One comprised Royal Norwich, Thetford, Sprowston Manor, The Norfolk, and Royal Cromer. Over the season 13 Royal Cromer ladies took part – and at a home match against Royal Norwich, the title was clinched.

This year Division One looked a bit different. The Norfolk Golf Club was no longer in existence and Weston Park had been been promoted from Division Two. So only four teams, Royal Norwich, Royal Cromer, Sprowston Marriott and Weston Park, were in contention.

Most Read

On Monday August 20 the last match was played, with Weston Park's win over Royal Norwich resulting in Royal Cromer retaining the League title.

This time 14 players represented Royal Cromer - Dianne Prewer, Tracey Williamson, Penny Rudd, Fiona Spencer, Sue Roe, Maureen McRae, Pat Edmonds, Liz Holmes, Anne Horne, Sarah Steventon, Mary Nicholls, Janet Lake, Julia Smith and Inge Spurrell.