Housing and NDR at the heart of Broadland’s county council election issues

11:00 23 April 2013

A voter leaving the polling station at Fakenham Community Centre. Picture: Ian Burt.

A voter leaving the polling station at Fakenham Community Centre. Picture: Ian Burt.

Archant © 2011

The possible development of up to 10,000 homes to the north-east of Norwich has dominated the business of Broadland District Council.

The candidates

Acle: Brian Iles (C), Victor Morgan (LD), Alan Pawsey (Lab), Christopher Woodlands (UKIP).

Aylsham: Ray Britt (Lab), Steve Emmens (UKIP), Ian Graham (C), David Harrison (LD).

Blofield and Brundall: Nick Ball (G), Armin Hess (UKIP), Elliot Page (Lab), Andrew Proctor (C), Peter Sergeant (LD).

Drayton and Horsford: Tony Adams (C), Brian Antuar (UKIP), Veronica Beadle (LD), Chris Jones (Lab).

Hellesdon: Peter Balcombe (LD), Shelagh Gurney (C), Jennifer Parkhouse (G), Sasha Pearce (Lab), Michael Walsh (UKIP).

Hevingham and Spixworth: Tony Hemmingway (Lab), Daniel Roper (LD), Sandra Smyth (UKIP), Shaun Vincent (C).

Old Catton: Lionel Buckingham (UKIP), Phil Di Palma (G), Judy Leggett (C), Peter Watson (Lab), James Wright (LD).

Reepham: Kerrie Barnett (C), Christine Hemmingway (Lab), James Joyce (LD), Dominic Low (UKIP).

Sprowston: John Gilson (UKIP), Chrissie Rumsby (Lab), Sam Sirdar (LD), John Ward (C).

Taverham: Paul Burall (LD), Stuart Clancy (C), Angus Dixon (Lab), Ian Kelly (UKIP).

Thorpe St Andrew: Joanna Barker (Lab), Steve Buckle (LD), Ian Mackie (C), David Moreland (UKIP).

Woodside: Ean Newberry (UKIP), Phyllida Scrivens (LD), Nigel Shaw (C), Jill Wigy (Lab).

Wroxham: Richard Amies (UKIP), Tom Garrod (C), Stephen Heard (Ind), Malcolm Kemp (Lab), Michael Kitching (LD).

Along with Norfolk County Council’s proposed £141.5m Norwich northern distributor road (NDR), which runs entirely through Broadland, the area could be subject to rapid growth in the coming years.

And while the planned thousands of houses will not pop-up overnight, decisions influencing roads and services in the area could emerge sooner rather than later.

RAF Coltishall, purchased by the county council for £4m, also borders the district.

Furthermore, nine of the current 12 county councillors have also been elected to serve at Broadland District Council.

After the 2009 county council elections, the Tories held 11 of the 13 seats in the area with the Liberal Democrats scooping up the remaining two.

There is also a vacancy in Wroxham following the departure of former Conservative cabinet member James Carswell, who has also left his district councillor role.

Broadland at County Hall has been a Tory heartland. The district includes Foulsham, Aylsham, plus Norwich fringe towns and villages.

But the result at Wroxham has the biggest question mark over it.

Mr Carswell stormed to victory in 2009 with 1,788 votes – a 56.46pc share of ballots cast – with the Greens second after polling 603 votes.

Conservative Tom Garrod has left Yarmouth North and Central to stand in Wroxham, which appears to be a safer seat for the party.

But with the Greens not putting forward a nomination, it is left to Richard Amies of the UK Independence Party (UKIP), Independent Stephen Heard, Labour’s Malcolm Kemp and the Lib Dems’ Michael Kitching to lead the challenge.

Mr Heard’s work as chairman of the Stop Norwich Urbanisation (Snub) group, which successfully challenged plans for housing growth in Broadland at the High Court, could be a factor in how the vote is shared.

Elsewhere, Conservative Tony Williams is leaving Hevingham and Spixworth. Lib Dem district councillor for Spixworth Dan Roper finished second in 2009, 123 votes short of Mr Williams, and has been nominated again.

The Tories have put forward Shaun Vincent, a cabinet member at Broadland, while Sandra Smyth is nominated for UKIP and Tony Hemmingway for Labour.


Other news

Yesterday, 16:45
One of the East Anglian Air Ambulance's helicopters at Norwich Airport.
Picture by SIMON FINLAY.

A man in his 20s was injured after being trapped by machinery in Wroxham.

Yesterday, 16:26
The Dilham charity football competition this weekend is in memory of cancer victim Brian Curtis, from Witton, who died on Christmas Day 2011, aged 69, after a short battle with cancer.

A charity memorial football competition is being held at Dilham near Stalham, over the weekend.

Yesterday, 15:59
Two cast iron litter bins have been stolen. Picture: Norfolk Police

Two cast iron litter bins have been stolen in north Norfolk.

Yesterday, 13:36
Fire Oulton Hall in the early hours of Tuesday morning with 7 fire engines in attendance overnight.


High winds hampered firecrews tackling a major blaze in a north Norfolk country house overnight.

Most Read

Yesterday, 08:21
Blustery winds driving waves and foamy surf against the pier and promenade at Cromer. Picture; RICHARD BATSON

The Met office has issued a yellow severe weather warning and told people to stay ‘weather aware’ as gusts of up to 75mph blow through the region.

Read more
Norfolk Police
Monday, March 16, 2015
Police were called to Brownshill near Roughton Road in Cromer on Saturday morning.

Armed police were called to reports of a disturbance involving a weapon in north Norfolk.

Read more
Norfolk Police
Yesterday, 09:13
The planters on Horning staithe.  Picture: MARK BULLIMORE

A picturesque Broads village has been divided over the appearance of a dozen plant tubs at a popular riverside viewing spot.

Read more
Saturday, June 11, 2011
Richard Butler, the new Chief Executive for the Church of England in Norfolk.

For: Sarah Brealey

A Swanton Abbott resident who has championed the cause of young people for more than 30 years has been made an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Read more
Mon, 22:06
Coastguard helicopter changeover. Rescue teams with the RAF Sea King. Picture; WENDY COPPING

Coastal rescuers have waved goodbye - and hello - to the helicopters they work alongside.

Read more

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 8°C

min temp: 5°C

Digital Edition

Read the North Norfolk News e-edition today E-edition